Daviess County was established on December 29th, 1836 and named for Major Joseph Hamilton Daviess – a soldier from Kentucky who was killed in 1811 at the Battle of Tippecanoe.  

Daviess County encompasses Altamont, Coffey, Gallatin (County Seat), Jameson, Jamesport, Lock Springs, Pattonsburg and Winston.

As of the 2020 Census, the population is approximately 8,430 people occupying a total area of 569 square miles.